‘Gravity’ & ‘Her’ named year’s best by Los Angeles Film Critics


If the New York Film Critics and the National Board of Review failed to give us a critical consensus, then their Los Angeles-based counterparts did little to clear things up. The Los Angeles Film Critics Association revealed their list of winners for the best achievements in film for 2013 on Sunday. Although Alfonso Cuaron’s space-set disaster thriller Gravity was the group’s biggest beneficiary – winning notices in four categories including Best Director (Cuaron) and Best Film, it had to share the later prize with Spike Jonze’s tender futuristic romance Her.

It wasn’t the only tie of the day as the LAFCA awarded the Best Actress award to both Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) and Blue is the Warmest Color breakout star Adele Exarchopoulos, and the Best Supporting Actor prize to James Franco (Spring Breakers) and Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club).

Other acting winners were Bruce Dern as Best Actor for his performance as a senile man in Alexander Payne’s bittersweet Nebraska and 12 Years a Slave revelation Lupita Nyong’o for Best Supporting Actress. Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy were awarded the Best Screenplay prize for their sublime work on Before Midnight while Blue is the Warmest Color and Stories We Tell were named Best Foreign Language Film and Best Documentary respectively.  In a pleasant surprise, the independent GKIDS release Ernest and Celestine was named Best Animated Feature over Hayao Miyazaki’s critical favorite The Wind Rises.

In the craft categories, Gravity won Best Cinematography (for Emmanuel Lubezki) and Best Editing (Cuaron and Mark Sanger) while Best Art Direction went to Her and Best Music was awarded to Inside Llewyn Davis. Full list of winners below:

Picture: Gravity and Her (tie)

Director: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity
Runner-up: Spike Jonze, Her

Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Runner-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Actress: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine, and Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue Is the Warmest Color (tie)

Supporting actor: James Franco, Spring Breakers, and Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Supporting actress: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: June Squibb, Nebraska

Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy, Before Midnight
Runner-up: Spike Jonze, Her

Foreign-language film: Blue Is the Warmest Color
Runner-up: The Great Beauty

Documentary/nonfiction film: Stories We Tell
Runner-up: The Act of Killing

Animation: Ernest & Celestine
Runner-up: The Wind Rises

Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity
Runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis

New Generation: Megan Ellison

Film editing: Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger, Gravity
Runner-up: Shane Carruth and David Lowery, Upstream Color

Production design: K.K. Barrett, Her
Runner-up: Jess Gonchor, Inside Llewyn Davis

Music score: T Bone Burnett, Inside Llewyn Davis
Runner-up: Arcade Fire and Owen Pallett, Her

Douglas E. Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Award: Cabinets of Wonder: Films and a Performance by Charlotte Pryce

Special citation: The creative team of 12 Years a Slave

Legacy of Cinema Award: Criterion Collection

Source: Variety


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s